A confounding stance

I have written before of the challenge facing people of faith in the wake of the current administration’s policies. Most of my writing has been in admiration of the Catholic Church’s attempt to remain faithful to the teaching of Scripture and the historic stance of the Church. This month has left me confounded with the “bookends” of events that seem contradictory to me. Early this month at the Democratic National Convention Cardinal Dolan – the same Cardinal spearheading a legal response to Obamacare – offered the closing prayer for the DNC. He mentioned President Obama, Vice President Biden and Romney and Ryan by name. This was the same DNC that had trouble deciding if they wanted to let God in or not. I was confused by his actions when he offered this prayer. It smacked of accommodation at best and capitulation at worst.

Then this week, a Catholic friend sent me the following video.

This second “bookend” left me confounded. It seems to indicate an unequivocal stance that will not traffic with an implacable foe. This is NOT the same message I got from Cardinal Dolan’s appearance and prayer at the DNC, which seemed to solemnize the celebration of abortion and other positions that are not consistent with the Church’s teaching. It was a confounding stance. My hope is that Catholics will indeed vote their conscience in November.

About da parson

Of the many roles I've filled, the one that has consumed more time than any is that of "parson", an old-fashioned name for a minister, pastor, reverend or clergy. It is a corruption of the word "person". The term itself is at least 800 years old. In towns and settlements in the US, the "parson" was "the man", often the most educated person in the area. He was well connected because all of the big days that were celebrated had to be solemnized by him. "da" as the modifier (think "da' Bears") makes it a little more edgy and hip, I think. Its my way of saying I'm still an old fashioned "parson", with a 21st century sensibility.
This entry was posted in Faith, Politics, Theology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

